Dutch National Opera presents

Figaro (solo): Bring Me a Storm OFFSPRING

Tickets sold

What cannot be spoken, must be sung

Language English

Figaro (solo): Bring me a Storm is an online opera that serves as a counterpart to Mozart's Le nozze di Figaro. Starting point is Figaro's explosive monologue from Pierre Beaumarchais' original play Le mariage de Figaro. Mozart and his librettist Da Ponte left the text, which brims with revolutionary spirit, out of their opera adaptation. Now the scene finally makes it to the operatic stage in the vision of a new generation of music theatre makers.

See also the online performance Le nozze di Figaro, an abridged version of Mozart's comic opera: Le nozze di Figaro - online

The free stream of Figaro (solo): Bring me a Storm can be viewed on this page from 29 November until 27 December.

A voice wants to sing, a body wants to dance. An empty theatre wants to bring a message of love to an audience, even if they are not there.

In the final act of Le nozze, Figaro is alone in the Count's garden. Though confident among other characters, the isolated Figaro is left to face bitter frustrations, self-doubt, and anxieties about taking a place in the world. Figaro’s extended soliloquy is now sung for the first time as a monologue-aria for one performer.

This once-censored text, left aside by Mozart and Da Ponte, now gains its own operatic dimension. A new libretto, adapted with freedom. What cannot be spoken, must be sung. "And if no one is there to hear me, I’ll sing of love to myself."

Practical information

Figaro (solo): Bring me a Storm will premiere on this webpage on 29 November, complementing our online premiere of Mozart's Le nozze di Figaro.

Short introduction to the performance

Prior to viewing the performance, read the short introduction by the production's dramaturg James Whiting.

Short introduction

© Kim Krijnen
© Kim Krijnen
© Kim Krijnen
© Kim Krijnen
© Kim Krijnen

Team, Cast and Chorus

Composer & librettist
Boris Bezemer
Coen Stuit
Stage director and text adaptation
Stephen Liebman
Scenography, lighting and image director
Django Walon
James Whiting
Lighting designer
Jasper Nijholt
video director and editor
Maurice Angenois
Angelo Custodio
Juho Myllylä - recorder
Tatiana Rosa - flute
Marco Danesie - bass clarinet
Sven Berkelmans - trumpet
Arne Visser - tuba
Jeroen Kimman - pedal steel guitar
Juan Sebastian Blanco - harp
Martine Sikkenk - mandolin
David Jansen - harpsichord
Fiona Robertson - violin
Mark Mulder - viola
Constance Allanic - vedel
Dominique Chabot - double bass
Niek Kleinjan - percussion


Dutch National Opera presents OFFspring, a series of four special productions by young theatre makers and artists who have participated in previous editions of our Opera Forward Festival. For their projects, the different creative teams engage in a dialogue with the major opera titles that Dutch Nationale Opera had originally programmed this autumn, as well as with the various districts of the city of Amsterdam and its residents.

The assignment of the artistic team of Figaro (solo): Bring me a Storm was: create a new opera that takes the opera Le nozze di Figaro and the district of Amsterdam-West as a starting point.

Learn more about OFFspring

Support us

Are you enjoying our online programming and would you like to support Dutch National Opera? You can do so via the following button:

Steun ons