Dutch National Opera & Ballet present

Young Patrons Circle Gala

This show was to been seen in June 2017


First International Young Patrons Circle Gala

This is the page about the Gala of 2017. Visit the webpage about the International Young Patrons Circle Gala of 2018!

The Young Patrons Circle of Dutch National Opera & Ballet presents a unique new event. On Saturday 10 June 2017, we hope to welcome you – along with hundreds of other young people from all over the world – on the red carpet of Dutch National Opera & Ballet to attend the very first International Young Patrons Circle Gala.

Admission is free for members of the Young Patrons Circle. If you are not yet a member, you can register here.

In Short

The Gala is an exclusive opera and ballet performance filled with surprises. After the performance, the festive high spirits continue in the foyer. In short… an unforgettable Gala with an equally unforgettable afterparty. Dress code is black tie!

The evening has another unique feature. It is the first time in our theatre’s history that a gala stage is being shared by the opera and ballet companies. The programme will showcase the similarities between opera and ballet, and will be performed by international stars of Dutch National Opera & Ballet. Floris Visser (33) is the director for the whole evening. 

Performance programme
The performance programme will include an appearance by star principals of Dutch National Ballet Igone de Jongh and Marijn Rademaker, who will be dancing Sarcasm by Hans van Manen. Dutch National Ballet will also be performing Krzysztof Pastor’s Moving Rooms and the white swan act from Swan Lake. Dutch National Ballet’s Junior Company will dance Blink by Juanjo Arques and appear alongside the Chorus of Dutch National Opera in Pique dame. The chorus will be singing excerpts from the operas Jephtha and Turandot and some soloists will sing arias from the operas Die Zauberflöte, Eugene Onegin and La traviata. Chazia Mourali will present the performance programme. 

Culinary experience
The culinary experience will be provided by the following exclusive restaurants: Taiko, Bluespoon, Waldorf Astoria and &Samhoud places (Michelin **)

Party DJs
The music for the party will be provided by DJ Joost van Bellen and Girls Love DJs. The DJ duo The Fashion Composers, comprising Dutch National Ballet dancers Pascalle Paerel and Hannah de Klein, will host a silent disco in the Odeonzaal.

Foyer programme
House of Makers (Peter Leung, Sterre van Rossem & Matthew Pawlicki-Sinclair) will present three short performances in the foyer during the gala. And a unique video installation, Kissing Machine by Petrovsky & Ramone, will be presented here as well as Night Fall  - the first VR ballet in the world - of Dutch National Ballet.

The doors open at 7.30 pm and you can enjoy the short performances in the foyer at 7.45 pm. The performance programme starts at 8.30 pm. 


Watch the aftermovie!

Floris Visser

Stage director

Floris Visser has rapidly gained international recognition as one of the leading talents of the next generation of opera directors. With engagements in opera houses as Opernhaus Zürich, the Bolshoi Opera, Dutch National Opera, Staatsoper Hannover & the Internationale Händelfestspiele Karlsruhe he is one of the most sought after stage directors of our present day.

Get your tickets now!

Don't miss this special evening! Your visit will undoubtedly lead to some interesting encounters. Invitees to this festive evening will include members of the Young Patrons Circle of Dutch National Opera & Ballet and members of young patrons circles of other opera and ballet houses and major cultural institutions around the world, as well as celebrities, VIPs, influentials and members of other young professional networks.

To buy tickets, click the button 'buy ticket' at hhe top of this page.

Admission is free for members of the Young Patrons Circle. If you are not yet a member, you can register here.

International Young Patrons Circle Weekend

If you would like to spend a weekend in good company and enjoy an interesting programme of cultural and culinary highlights in Amsterdam, you can attend our International YPC Weekend (9 -11 June), which revolves around the dazzling International Young Patrons Circle Gala. Organised by Dutch National Opera & Ballet in collaboration with the Young Patrons Circle, the weekend gives you the opportunity to immerse yourself in cultural heritage, network with international young patrons and enjoy many hotspots in Amsterdam.

Friday 9 June
20.00 Opening Night of Salome, directed by the famous Ivo van Hove, by Dutch National Opera (optional, tickets from 72 euro)

Saturday 10 June
11:00 Champagne brunch at GRIMM (Keizersgracht 241) with Matthias Weischer
11:30 Gallery Tour by Amsterdam Art Weekend and Nina van Heuveln (Heuv Art): Galerie Ron Mandos,  Stigter Van Doesburg, Martin van Zomeren, Galerie Fons Welters
19.30 International Young Patrons Circle Gala

Sunday 11 June
11:30 Private Tour at Rijksmuseum, Museumstraat 1 (please be in time, limited spaces available)
16:30-19:00 Boat Tour through the Amsterdam Canals with drinks & bites (20 euro pp, limited spaces available)

Please RSVP asap at YPC@operaballet.nl and indicate wich events you would like to join.

For more information about the Young Patrons Circle (YPC), click here.


These are the ambassadors of the Young Patrons Circle Gala:

Jessica Van Aken

Lotte de Beer

Lillian Bennink

Arie Boomsma

Lucrezia Buccellati

Camille Charrière

Robin Chadha

Nathalie de Clerck

Anna Drijver

Pieter Eckhardt

Cato Van Ee

Splinter Fangman

Sarah Fetter

Annemarie Van Gerrevink

Adriana Gonzalez Hulshof

Keziah Sterre Goudsmit

Judith Goudsmit

Charlotte Harrison

Maxime van der Heijden

Carolyn Hodler

Luise van Holk

Janey van Ierland

Sophie Kahn

Maria Kloosterman

Sophie Kloosterman

Louise Lagendijk

Charlotte Lagendijk

Mike Lewis

Ernst Meisner

Rasmus Michau

Bo Mulder

Morris Nieuwenhuis

Kees van Nieuwkerk

Thomas Oliemans

Catherine Maaskant-Peters

Ernst-Jan Pfauth

Nina Pierson

Maurits Pot

Juano Queen

Liesbeth Rasker

Constantin Rojahn

Olympia Scarry

Lavinia Schimmelpenninck

Constance Scholten

Nina Schuitemaker-Wichstrøm

Annebel Van Selms

Feyo Sickinghe

Sophie van der Stap

Willa Stoutenbeek

Nathalie Alica Streng

Rachel Seville Tashjian

Anneke Torenstra

Milou Turpijn

Bibi van der Velden

Sanne Vogel

Johannes Wilbrenninck

Clementina Zegna

Pom Zwart